Questions or technical issues? Please email

CCM WebSite


Name of Work

Lieberson, Peter (1946-)
Raising the Gaze

Raising the Gaze


Jun 11, 2007

Karin Ursin, Flute
Larry Combs, Clarinet
Jasmine Lin, Violin
Rami Solomonow, Viola
Clancy Newman, Cello
Kuang-Hao Huang, Piano
Vadim Karpinos, Percussion

LIEBERSON-Raising the Gaze

Composed in 1988

Raising the Gaze was commissioned in 1988 by a consortium consisting of the Boston Music Viva, the San Francisco Contemporary Chamber Players, and the Aeolian Chamber Players of New York.

I composed Raising the Gaze quickly, with the feeling of executing a set of brush strokes in thick black ink. The piece lasts about eight minutes as is essentially in three parts: the first part itself has two sections, different in tempo but each one fast and perky. The middle part of the piece is a "slow dance" for piccolo, then bass clarinet solo accompanied by sharp drum strokes and piano chords out of which arises clouds of string harmonics. The final part of the piece begins with a bravura violin solo and ends with a drum solo accompanied by the other instruments recapitulating the opening music.

Program Notes by Peter Lieberson

Performance date: June 11, 2007

Performance Audio